

Academic Council Meeting

June 14, 2022 5:00 - 6:30 pm Microsoft Teams/ SCFL 1-096A (Multipurpose Room)

Minutes

Time	Item	Action	Owner		
	WELCOME & TREATY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT				
5:00	Dawn Witherspoon, Emmeline Marie Sanson, Greg Eklics, Leeheon Koo, Leonce Rushubirwa, Manna Liu, Marlene Phillips, Mayme Wong, Nicole Wong, Navjot Kaur, Tarandeep Kaur, Sandra Moore, Tanya Friesen, Tibetha Kemble, Norma Schneider, Kelly Komga Tchapomb, Renuka Jantz Scribe: Rebecca Bock-Freeman				
	AGENDA ITEMS				
	1. Approval of the Agenda				
5:10	Motion to approve the agenda: moved by Marlene Phillips; Seconded by Tanya Friesen.	Decision	Dr. Leonce Rushubirwa, Chair		
	Motion Carried				
5:12	2. Approval of the Minutes				
	• May 10, 2022	Decision	Dr. Leonce Rushubirwa, Chair		
	Motion to approve the amended the minutes to include that a Climate Change program was recommended. Moved by Kelly Komga Tchapomb; Seconded by Nicole Wong.				
	Motion Carried				
5:15	3. Major Program Change: Pharmacy Technician Diploma				
	Bev Suntjens, Vice Dean Faculty of Health Science, and Lily Kriese, Associate Chair Pharmacy Technician, explained that the Pharmacy Technician Diploma proposes to remove three courses and add three new restructured courses to the program following the details below. There is no change to the overall credit load and the proposed effective date of these changes is Fall 2023. It was shared that the changes were discussed with students,	Decision	Bev Suntjens, Vice Dean Faculty of Health Studies Lily Kriese, Associate Chair Pharmacy Technician		

	the program advisory committee and the Office			
	of the Registrar.			
	Motion to approve the major program change to the Pharmacy Technician Diploma. Moved by Marlene Phillips; Seconded by Manna Liu.			
	Motion Carried			
	4. Feedback on Reimagine Higher Education:			
	Anti-Racism Desired State			
	 After reviewing the Desired State: What resonates with you, your team and your work? What is missing in this desired state? 		RHE Team: Nicole Stewart, Instructor Nursing; Nimarta Mann Sarao,	
5:35	Nimarta Mann Sarao, Instructor Business, and Zachary Johnsrud, Instructor Language & Settlement Studies, hosted an engagement session using Mural on the Desired State for NorQuest as an Anti-Racist Organization. Academic Council was pleased to see the perspectives shared in the vision document and shared feedback and suggestions on Mural.	Discussion	Instructor Business; Zachary Johnsrud, Instructor Language & Settlement Studies; Brenda Hoang, Project Coordinator	
	5. Academic Council Statement Development: Anti-Racism			
6:00	Dawn Witherspoon, Manager Curriculum Development, also gathered feedback on Mural in support of developing a statement from Academic Council on anti-racism.	Discussion	Dawn Witherspoon, Manager Curriculum Development	
	6. Summer Subcommittee Membership Terms of Reference attached which outline the subcommittee requirements on p.7, including:			
6:15	"A "Summer Subcommittee" consisting of a minimum of 2 faculty members, 2 students and 1 of the leadership group be created to continue work over the summer period (June – September)."	Decision	Dr. Leonce Rushubirwa, Chair	
	Motion to approve the Summer Subcommittee composition, including: Dawn Witherspoon (Administration), Tanya Friesen (Faculty), Leonce Rushubirwa (Faculty), Lee (Student), Kelly (Student). Moved by Norma Schneider, Seconded by Kelly Komga Tchapomb. Motion Carried			
6:30 pm	We have a very small token of appreciation for Ac	ademic Council	Members!	
0.30 pm	ADJOURNMENT			